Advertisement For Smiths Of DroghedaAdvertisement For Arc CinemaAdvertisement For O'Reilly Glass
Friday, 9th February 2024

St. Mary's Diocesan Intermediate boys in All Ireland Finalists Alert!

Front Page

St. Mary's Diocesan Schools Intermediate boys’ team (above), featuring; Lorcan Forde Dunne, Sam O'Neill, Jack Garvey, Rhys Clarke, Fergus Nolan, Kevin Mulholland & Jamie O' Reilly have won the Leinster Schools Cross country Championships held in Phoenix Park on February7th.

The boys fought over a gruelling distance of 4.5k. Lorcan Forde Dunne finished in an outstanding individual second place following another impressively close sprint finish.

This is a major achievement for the team as they have qualified for All Ireland Schools later this month.

The boys Junior Team fought hard over a 3km course to do our school so proud. This team featured; Daniel Hanley (a top 16 finish!), Tadhg Forde Dunne, Seamus Keenan, Peter Hutcheson and Aaron Mullen.

The best support crew award goes to the Minor members of the school’s athletics team. These boys showed their support from start to finish and gave all of our competitors huge encouragement.

Onwards to the All-Ireland Finals for the Intermediate boys!

Congratulations also to the 2nd Year Gaelic team of St. Marys Diocesan School (above), who won the North Leinster Final today against Ballymahon of Longford on a scoreline of 7-10 to 1-3.

The half time score was 1-7 to 1-3. A hard-fought victory with some superb passages of play from the team. The team now progress into the Leinster Semi Final after the mid-term. Thanks to all the support from parents who came to cheer the team on. The lads really appreciated it. Coached by teachers Mr Don Thornton and Mr Jeff Branigan.

Here are some of the details regarding the North Leinster C Final Feb 7th:

St Marys DS Drogheda 7 - 10

Mercy Ballymahon Longford 1 - 3

St Marys now progress into the Leinster Semi-Final final V Portlaoise CBS. 

Captain: Cormac Grogan (St Colmcilles)

Scorers on the day:

  • Jamie O Halloran (Duleek / Bellewstown) 2 - 0
  • Nathan Doolin (St Colmcilles) 2 - 0
  • Callum Morris (Wolfe Tones) 1 - 2
  • Jack O Connor (Duleek / Bellewstown) 1 - 2
  • John Paul Jackson (St Pats Stamullen) 1 - 0
  • Sean Whelan (St Colmcilles) 0 -2
  • Cian Bennett (St Colmcilles) 0 - 1
  • Cormac Grogan (St Colmcilles) 0 - 1
  • Sam Brady (St Colmcilles) 0 - 1
  • Naoise Mc Avina (Oliver Plunketts) 0 - 1
Advertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda
Advertisement For Arc Cinema
Advertisement For O'Reilly Glass