Advertisement For Anthony Murphy Green PartyAdvertisement For Marian Agrios FGAdvertisement For Declan Power - IndependentAdvertisement For Councillor Kevin Callan 2024Advertisement For Michael O'DowdAdvertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda
Monday, 15th April 2024

O’Dowd encourages primary schools in Louth to apply for Hot School Meal Programme

Front Page

Deputy Fergus O'Dowd.

Louth Fine Gael TD, Fergus O’Dowd, has confirmed that a total of 21 primary schools are now approved for the hot school meal programme in County Louth. 

O’Dowd said “Whilst the list in County Louth is promising I would strongly encourage any remaining primary schools who have not yet joined the scheme to express an interest in the Hot School Meals Programme at the earliest opportunity. 

“This is a wonderful programme which has been spearheaded by my colleague the Minister for Social Protection, Heather Humphreys, and I know this programme is already making an impact on the ground since it was launched as a pilot five years ago. 

“Over 316,000 children can now receive a nutritious, hot meal during their school day as a result of this positive government decision which is contributing to the wellbeing of children across Ireland. 

O’Dowd added “In June 2020, there were 30 schools receiving hot meals. Today’s announcement means that from today there are over 2,000 primary schools able to benefit from hot school meals. Every school that submitted an expression of interest has been brought into the scheme. 

“The Minister is now opening a new round of expressions of interest to allow for the opportunity of hot school meals from September and I hope remaining schools will get their submission in as early as possible.” 

Minister Heather Humphreys stated “My ambition is that every primary school child in the country will be receiving a hot meal in 2025. This is well ahead of our original target to make hot school meals universal in primary schools by 2030.”

List of schools under the Hot School Meals Programme in County Louth:

  1. Aston Village Educate Together National School 20294I
  2. Ballapousta Ns 01554B
  3. Bellurgan N S 16249E
  4. Dromin N S 06576N
  5. Dromiskin Mixed N S 16760M
  6. Faughart Community National School 18391R
  7. Knockbridge Mixed N S 15101N
  8. Le Cheile Educate Together Ns 20146Q
  9. S N Aonghusa 19740V
  10. S N Bhride 17965M
  11. S N Columcille 01434O
  12. S N Mhuire Na Trocaire 18099V
  13. S N Muire 18101F
  14. S N Naomh Fhionain 17952D
  15. S N Naomh Peadar 11072M
  16. S N Talamh Na Manach 18312S
  17. Scoil Bhride 18382Q
  18. Scoil Naomh Fainche 14578N
  19. St Olivers Ns 02322I
  20. St. Francis National School 20259G
  21. Walshestown N S 03787L



Advertisement For Anthony Murphy Green Party
Advertisement For Marian Agrios FG
Advertisement For Declan Power - Independent