Advertisement For Drogehda Leisure ParkAdvertisement For Gerry's Fresh FoodsAdvertisement For Floor StyleAdvertisement For Arc CinemaAdvertisement For Termonfeckin CentraAdvertisement For Smiths Of DroghedaAdvertisement For Drogheda Credit Union
Advertisement For Boyne Brewhouse
Sunday, 26th May 2019

Keogan set to take two seats in Meath

Front Page

Sharon Keogan - on the way to winnig two seats in Meath.

History is about to be made in County Meath today as sitting Independent councillor, Dulleek’s Sharon Keogan, looks set to take two seats – making her the first woman in Ireland to do so!

Cllr Keogan stood in both the Ashbourne and Bettystown Laytown areas where she is topping the poll, according to tallies.

And looking set to lose his seat is Cllr Tom Kelly, current chairman of Meath County Council, who’s canvassing efforts were hampered due to a torn cruciate ligament which reduced his mobility substantially in recent weeks.

Counting in County Meath continues today in Simonstown Gaels GFC, Navan. As boxes were sorted at the Trim count centre yesterday, tallies suggest that in the Bettystown Laytown area, bar one box from Donacarney, stand as follows:

Advertisement For Clarkes/Odd Mollies
  • Behan FF 843 – 8%
  • Connor DD 232 – 2%
  • Corr SD 167 – 1%
  • Ferguson SF 546 – 5%
  • Harding FF 1,180 – 11%
  • Hoey Lab 1,060 – 10%
  • Kelly NP 262 – 2%
  • Keogan NP 2,022 – 18%
  • Lacey PBP 167 – 1%
  • McKee FF 987 – 9%
  • Meade FG – 1,432 – 13%
  • O’Byrne SF 158 – 1%
  • Smith NP 51 – 0%
  • Tolan FG 1,690 – 15%
  • Whelan A 361 – 3%
  • Total 11,157

In Ashbourne Cllr Sharon Keogan has 1,186 votes, which leaves her lying fourth in line for a seat, after Cllr Joe Bonnar, Cllr Alan Tobin and Cllr Suzanne Jamal.

In the Bettystown Laytown area, Cllr Sharon Keogan NP is topping the pole at 18%, followed by Cllr Sharon Tolan FG on 15% and Cllr Paddy Meade FG on 13%. All look set to take seats on the first count.

Looking set to get in on the second count is new candidate Annie Hoey Lab, who sits on 10% in tallies, with Cllr Stephen McKee FF almost sure to take his seat based on transfers from his Duleek colleague, Cllr Sharon Keogan.

Cllr Wayne Harding FF will most likely get in on the second count, but looking dicey to retain her seat is Cllr Eimear Ferguson SF. 

By Caroline Kavanagh

Advertisement For Paul Bell Fleadh

Get today's local news straight to your mobile. Download the Drogheda Life App now!

Get it on Google Play

Advertisement For Drogehda Leisure Park
Advertisement For Gerry's Fresh Foods
Advertisement For Floor Style