Advertisement For O'Reilly GlassAdvertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda
Monday, 27th November 2023

Great glitz and glamour at the Northeast Business Excellence Awards

Front Page

Ken Byrne from Flogas and Hubert Murphy, President of Drogheda Chamber of Commerce present the Outstanding Achievement in Business Award to Victor and Paddy Dwyer at the Drogheda and District Chamber, Northeast Business Excellence Awards 2023 at the City North Hotel. Photos by Jenny Callanan.

The social night of the year for the local business community, The Northeast Business Excellence Awards, which took place on Friday night in the CityNorth Hotel, was another great success with the main award, the Outstanding Achievement in Business Award, being presented to footwear retailers Victor and Paddy Dwyer of Shop Street. 

As ever, the night was one of great glitz and glamour (and that was just the men!) as the entire business community donned their glad rags to celebrate with the winners across a wide range of categories.

Sarah Mallon from Local Enterprise Office Louth (Sponsor) presents the Emerging New Business Award to Donal Quinn of Enso. 

This year, along with the traditional voting method with a jury, there was also a public vote section which saw some delighted companies who were rewarded for their professionalism throughout the year by their customers.

In their report the judges said they were highly impressed, remarking:

Advertisement For Drogheda Comedy Festival 2024

 "The standard of entrants keeps rising year on year. We are constantly amazed at the levels of entrepreneurship, customer service that drives both individuals, community groups and companies to succeed.

"Drogheda Chamber has played a significant role in the development of commerce in the town and district for well over 100 years.

Nicola Mee from Permanent TSB (Sponsor) presents the High Street Hero - Small Retailer Award to Naomi and Barry Tully and Frances McDonagh of Hubert Tullys. 

“The changes in the town in recent years has added to the need for a local representative body and that need will only grow in the years to come," President Hubert Murphy stated.

"These awards are very much part of our ethos of recognising and rewarding local business and the great thing is that there is such a variety to choose from.

Mary O’Sullivan of Osborne Recruitment Excellence (Sponsor) presents the SME of The Year (2-10) Award to Paul and Patricia Kirwan of Nuvalez Consulting Ltd.

“The town is blessed to have such individuals and firms as part of our growing community." He thanked all the sponsors who have shown such wonderful support down the years to the awards, the judges, the public for voting and the many, many businesses who took the time to enter.

"The awards take months of planning and the chamber staff deliver time and time again. A real team effort makes this night what it is."

Seamus Flynn from Indaver (Sponsor) presents the Best Customer Service Award to Richard and Charlotte Kelly from Calluna’s Tanning, Hair and Beauty.

The outstanding contribution of the Dwyer family over the last 70 years to the business life of the town was also recognised with a special award presented by Premier Sponsor Ken O’Byrne of Flogas for Outstanding Achievement in Business.

The prize winners in the various categories were:

Emerging New Business (Start-Up) Winner: - ENSO

Sponsor Local Enterprise Office Louth

High Street Hero -Small Retailer  Winner:- Hubert Tullys

Sponsor Permanent TSB

Brona Grogan from Paycheck Plus by Iris (Sponsor) presents the Family Business of the Year Award to Joe Finnegan of Finnegan’s Farm. 

SME of the Year (2-10) Winner: - Nuvalez Consulting Limited

Sponsor Osborne

Best Pub Winner: - Barlow’s Railway Tavern 

Sponsor      AWS                                                                             

Best Customer Service - Winner: Calluna’s Tanning, Hair & Beauty     

Sponsor Indaver      

Robert Murray from Drogheda Chamber of Commerce presents the Beauty Salon/Nail Bar of the Year Award to Studio D. 

Family Business of the Year - Winner: Finnegan's Farm

Sponsor  Paycheck Plus by Iris

Beauty Salon/Nail Bar Winner: Studio D  

Sponsor Drogheda & District Chamber

Outstanding Achievement in Business award -  Winners: Victor & Paddy Dwyer

Sponsor Flogas

Cormac Halpin from Hanley Energy (Sponsor) presents the Solopreneur of the Year Award to Maria Morgan of Esker Fields. 

Solopreneur of the Year - Winner: Esker Fields

Sponsor Hanley Energy

Best not for Profit Organisation - Winner: Foroige's Cable Project

Sponsor Coca-Cola Drogheda

Best Hair Salon/Barber Shop Award - Winner: Southgate Barbers Ltd.

Sponsor M1 Drogheda Chamber Skillnet

Noeleen McGovern of Coca-Cola (Sponsor) presents the Best Not for Profit Organisation Award to Foroige’s Cable Project.

Best Restaurant - Winner: The Valley Inn

Sponsor Tirlán

Tourism of the Year - Winner: Droichead Arts Centre & Love Drogheda BIDS

Sponsor Louth County Council

Best Coffee Shop/Café - Winner: The Coffee Box  

Sponsor CityNorth Hotel

Joe Lynch from M1 Drogheda Chamber Skillnet (Sponsor) presents the Best Hair Salon/Barber Shop Award to Southgate Barbers.

SME 11 + Winner:  Anglo Printers Ltd     

Sponsor Irish Cement

Environmental & Biodiversity - Winner: Development Perspectives  

Sponsor (Boann Distillery)

Peter McGuinness from Tirlán (Sponsor) presents the Best Restaurant Award to The Valley Inn
Mayor Eileen Tully, Louth County Council (Sponsor) presents the Tourism of the Year Award to Droichead Arts Centre (Dee Walsh, Collette Farrell and Linda Callaghan) and Love Drogheda BIDS (Niall Kierans,  Mark McGowan and Sarah Taaffe).
Leonie Thornton from City North Hotel (Sponsor) presents the Best Coffee Shop/Cafe Award to The Coffee Box. 
David Chambers from Irish Cement (Sponsor) presents the Best SME 11+ Award to Anglo Printers.
James Cooney from Boann Distillery (Sponsor) presents the Environmental and Biodiversity Award to Development Perspectives. 
Eddie Phelan,pictured here with his wife Aileen, received an award for his dedication to Drogheda Chamber and the Community.
Chamber President Hubert Murphy with Award Winners at the Drogheda and District Chamber, Northeast Business Excellence Awards 2023 at the City North Hotel.


Advertisement For O'Reilly Glass
Advertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda