Advertisement For Smiths Of DroghedaAdvertisement For O'Reilly GlassAdvertisement For Arc CinemaAdvertisement For Floor StyleAdvertisement For Gerry's Fresh Foods
Advertisement For EasyDel Drogheda
Tuesday, 30th November 2021

Drogheda Classical Music celebrates the work of Saint-Saëns

Front Page

Beth McNinch (viola) who will be playing at the final concert in the Drogheda Classical Music autumn season which takes place on Wednesday, December 8.

The final concert in the Drogheda Classical Music autumn season which takes place on Wednesday 8 December is a celebration of the work of French composer Camille Saint-Saëns.

Best known for opera, larger orchestral works and instrumental concertos, Saint-Saëns also devoted much time and effort to writing chamber music.

Marking 100 years since his death, the final concert in the autumn series presents two of his great smaller-scale works, the piano quintet in A Major and his short and quirky septet for piano, strings and trumpet.

Originally written as a joke, the septet’s instrumentation of strings, piano and trumpet was most unusual at the time. However, this work was hugely popular and was later arranged by the composer for piano trio, and by his student Gabriel Fauré for piano duet. The programme will be performed by pianist Fiachra Garvey, Musici Ireland strings and Niall O’Sullivan, trumpet.

Advertisement For DIFE OPEN DAY 2022

This programme was originally planned for January 2021, but postponed due to rising Covid numbers and the third lockdown. We believed audiences would want to experience it live and in-person rather than online, and so we’re delighted that it is now happening in Saint-Saëns’ anniversary month and actually makes the perfect closing concert to the year.” Pauline Ashwood, Director, Drogheda Classical Music

This concert takes place in St Peter’s Church of Ireland, Drogheda and to ensure the audience’s comfort and safety numbers will continue to be restricted . The performances will last approximately 1 hour in duration and be performed without an interval.

Tickets are €20 and can be booked through Droichead Arts Centre on 041 9833946 or with further information available from

The Series is funded by the Arts Council and Louth County Council and run in partnership with Droichead Arts Centre with sponsorship from WhiteLight Events, the d Hotel and RTÉ Supporting the Arts.

Wednesday 8 December            7:30pm

Fiachra Garvey (piano), Mia Cooper, Victor Vigas (violins), Beth McNinch (viola), Bill Butt (cello) Dominic Dudley (bass) and Niall O’Sullivan (trumpet)

Saint-Saëns                        Piano Quintet in A Major, Op.14
Saint-Saëns                        Septet in E flat major, Op. 65


Get today's local news straight to your mobile. Download the Drogheda Life App now!

Get it on Google Play

Please support Drogheda Life 

Drogheda Life has brought you the local news every day since February 2012 with a special emphasis on the achievements of local individuals, community organisations and businesses.

If you appreciate what we are doing perhaps you would consider making a financial contribution to help us continue publishing?

Thank you!

Please support Drogheda Life by taking out a subscription

We are reaching out to Drogheda Life’s readers to seek their financial support so that we can continue delivering the local news every day and providing a platform for discussion of local topics.

As a Drogheda Life subscriber you will be supporting our efforts to bring you the local news on a daily basis and to provide a platform for discussion on local topics and issues of the day

Drogheda Life is here to support the people of the Drogheda area and to publicise their efforts within the community. Please fill in the form now. Thank you.

Donate Now
Advertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda
Advertisement For O'Reilly Glass
Advertisement For Arc Cinema