Advertisement For Floor StyleAdvertisement For Smiths Of DroghedaAdvertisement For O'Reilly GlassAdvertisement For Gerry's Fresh FoodsAdvertisement For Arc CinemaAdvertisement For Drogheda Credit Union
Advertisement For FAIR GREEN CASINO
Friday, 6th September 2019

Cup victory for O’Raghallaighs under 11s

Front Page

The O’Raghallaighs GFC, under 11 team who were winners of the Gerry Morgan Memorial Cup 2019. Back (from left): Conor Moore, Brandon Smith, Alex Everet, Ross Irwin, Liam Keenan, Rhys McCormack, Tadhg Dullaghan, Eabha MacGabhann, Roisín Black. Front row:Sennan McGinty, Eobhean Mullen, Brandon Boland, Tarik Bozkaya, Capt. Tom Smith, Darragh Smyth, Joshua Moore.

Gerry Morgan Memorial Cup and Shield tournament a big success

Last Saturday was a big day for some of the smaller footballers in county Louth as the O’Raghallaighs GFC hosted the annual Gerry Morgan Memorial Cup and Shield for under 11’s.

The event attracted ten teams from around the County - Newtown Blues GFC, St. Fechins GAA, St. Nicholas GFC, Wolfe Tones GAA, Glen Emmets GAA, Naomh Mairtin GFC, Glyde Rangers GAA, Dreadnots GAA, O’Raghallaigh’s GFC and Stabannon Parnells GAA.

The clubs were divided into two groups and the winners and runners up in each group progressed to the Trophy and Shield finals.

With the briefings and greetings out of the way the sport commenced at 11.30 with each of the group games consisting of two halves of seven minutes each.

Advertisement For Credit Union Emergency Loan

The energy, skills and speed demonstrated by the teams as they slugged it out with their opponents to decide who would be going forward for the Cup and Shield was a testament to their clubs, they really did themselves proud.

O’Raghallaigh’s GFC finished top of group A while St Fechins emerged from their group B to meet for a nail biting finish in the Cup final.

The final turned out to be a gripping affair with no quarter being given from either team. At the final whistle both teams were level pegging so it went to extra time of two three minute halves and, at the end of the day, it was the O’Raghallaighs team who emerged victorious.

Glen Emmets GAA and Niamh Martins GFC, the runners up in both groups A and B, played it out for the Shield. An excellent performance of great skill was demonstrated with Glen Emmets GAA winning the game at the final blow of the whistle.

The organising committee comprising of Dave Floyd, Stephen Dullaghan U11s Coach, Assistant Club Secretary Danny O’Brien expressed their thanks to the members and volunteers and especially all the young girls and boys who made this a very special day.

Go Raibh Maith Agat.

Glen Emmets GAA, U11’s - winners of the Gerry Morgan Memorial Shield.Back row: Joey Carlon, Benjamin Mullin, Louis Austin, Dan O’Reilly, Michael Carlon, Brian Mc Callio,n Josh Grant, Ronan Govern, Ron Knowles. Front row: Eoin Coyle, Connor Wogan, Stephen Curtis, Ephriam McDonnell, Donal O’Kane, Eoghan McKeown, Charlie Knowle’s Anthony Traynor.
Advertisement For Arc Cinema Crazy Tuesday

Get today's local news straight to your mobile. Download the Drogheda Life App now!

Get it on Google Play

Please support Drogheda Life 

Drogheda Life has brought you the local news every day since February 2012 highlighting the achievements of local community organisations and businesses.

This is a labour of love but to improve and widen the scope of our service, we are now appealing to readers for their support.

If you appreciate what we are doing perhaps you would consider making a financial contribution?

You can make a regular payment or opt for a one off donation. As a subscriber you will receive a twice weekly news bulletin sent straight to your inbox meaning you will never miss another report from Drogheda Life.

Thank you!

Please support Drogheda Life by taking out a subscription

We are reaching out to Drogheda Life’s readers to seek their financial support so that we can continue delivering the local news every day and providing a platform for discussion of local topics.

Donate Now
Advertisement For Floor Style
Advertisement For Smiths Of Drogheda
Advertisement For O'Reilly Glass